Go to Content
Columbia College Chicago

WCRX-FM Students Named Finalists for International Radio Awards

WCRX-FM has received seven nominations for broadcast excellence from the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System (IBS).

Founded in 1940, The Intercollegiate Broadcasting System is a nationally renowned organization based in New Windsor, New York. Currently they represent over 1,000 non-profit, education-affiliated radio stations throughout the world. The Annual IBS Student Radio Awards recognizes college stations excellence in many categories including: programming, air personalities, public service efforts, and outstanding stations.

Here are the finalists for the 2013 IBS Awards:

1. Best News Feature Story
      Brett Jackson- "The Faces of Hunger"

2. Best Public Service Announcement
       Stacey Crawley- "Gift of Hope" (PSA to promote organ donation)

3. Best On-Air Personality
        Ryan McKiddy

4. Best Specialty Music Show
        Tom Bowman- "The Blue Door Club"

5. Best Celebrity/Artist Interview
         Orin DeJonge- interview with hip hop artist B.o.B

6. Best Station Blog
         Dan Shearer- "Day 5 in Iceland"

7. Best College/University Station
         WCRX Staff

Winners will be announced on Saturday, March 8, 2014 at the 74th Annual IBSNYC International Conference at the Hotel Pennsylvania in New York City.